RUNNING ~ Week Six, Day Two: Steady Progress

Can someone please tell me when the first mile stops feeling like I am going to die? Six weeks into this and I really felt like I may not be able to complete the Turkey Trot next week. I was having a serious mental battle on my run this morning. I started with a brisk walk to the track which is approximately .91 miles. Then I stretched and ran two miles. During those two miles I really questioned why I was doing this to myself when I could be at home in my warm bed. God always has a way of reminding that this journey is about more than my current discomfort. Just when I was about to decide that I wasn’t going to run in the Turkey Trot, I heard this song playing
in my earphones… Steady My Heart by Kari Jobe
So I kept going…

On the track I happened upon another couple who were in the midst of their workout. I saw them from afar and could tell they were experienced runners. I don’t know what their splits were but I know they were a lot faster than mine! I am proud of my 10:35 min mile pace on the first mile and 11:26 min mile pace on the second mile. Although they lapped me… Twice… I really used it as encouragement to continue the course. Considering six weeks ago I couldn’t run one mile and it was definitely a lot slower, I am happy that I felt like a runner out there this morning.

20131120-155146.jpg

After I ran the two miles I stopped, but I wasn’t quite satisfied. So I did some stretches and made the decision to run ONE MORE MILE. It wasn’t my fastest mile but it was still progress. My third mile was my slowest but like I said I choose to see it as progress. (11:52 min mile) looking back on today, I actually completed the five miles I was hoping to complete. I just did not run the whole thing. Tomorrow is another day to reach my goals… but everyday I’m PROUD of my progress!

20131120-165141.jpg

When you started running, at what point did you feel like a runner? Leave a comment.

Follow TeamFitMommy on WordPress, Facebook , Twitter, Pinterest, and BlogHer. Remember to BE FIT & HAVE FUN!

Leave a Reply

