RUNNING ~ Week Five, Day Three: Keep Running!

It finally happened… I FELL! The other day I talked about the challenges of running on city streets and today I met one of those challenges face to face! I was just starting to get into a flow. I was thinking about why I always feel like I’m dying the first mile of my run, I noticed a car pulling up to the corner, I was trying to decide if I was going to go straight or cross the street and then…. I tripped on an uneven patch of pavement and DOWN I WENT! I was so alarmed that I jumped up and kept running!

I knew my knees were scuffed up a little but I didn’t even stop to find out how badly until I reached the next corner. The damage wasn’t bad so I kept going. As I jogged, my knees kind of tingled from pain but I determined that I wasn’t going to turn around. I hadn’t even gotten a mile in yet. In my head I kept hearing, “Keep Running”! So I continued on to the track. Oddly, the adrenaline rush I got from the fall propelled me to a slightly faster first mile time than I had all week.

20131115-160150.jpg

When I got to the track I noticed that I had a Facebook message on my phone from my lifestyle mentor Dr. Ian Smith! It was just what I needed to take my mind off of falling, off of being in pain, off of wanting to quit! At that point I was inspired to keep going and finish strong!
As I mentioned the other day, every day as a runner is different. There’s always something new to challenge your drive and enthusiasm. I am finding that if you continue to push on and persevere you can overcome anything!

20131115-160323.jpg

Today I overcame not wanting to run today, falling, injury, and just plain wanting to stop and go home. I ran 3.01 miles and walked .91 today. As far as I’m concerned I’m very proud of myself for continuing despite the obstacles I faced. When I came home I put some ice on my knees and marveled at the runner that I have become.

20131115-160956.jpg

As you continue on your journey, let me inspire you to not give up despite the obstacles you face. Keep going until you reach your goals. Take one step at a time and you will get there! Just KEEP RUNNING! Have you ever faced an obstacle that you had to overcome? What was it and how did you overcome it?

Follow TeamFitMommy on WordPress, on Facebook, on Twitter , on Pinterest and on BlogHer! Have a FIT & FUN Day!

Leave a Reply

