RUNNING ~ Week Five, Day Two: Runners Don’t Hibernate

Living in the northeast, I knew there would come a day when I was required to get out there and run despite the fact that it is COLD! This morning it was about 35 degrees when I started my run. I wish I could say that I forgot all about how cold it was once I started running but I did not! What I did realize is that “Runners Don’t Hibernate”

20131113-112211.jpg

Once I accepted that it was just gonna be cold on this run, I began to focus on what I wanted to accomplish today. I really got out there with no specific goal other than to do more than I did on Monday. I accomplished that. I was able to get in a three mile run although my phone was not charged enough and I lost contact with my Runtastic app at 2.77miles.

20131113-113016.jpg

Everyday as a runner is different. Even if you are running the same route there are so many variables. Today, the weather was a challenge for me. Although sunny and bright and dry it was a little windy. As a relatively new runner little things like a gust of unexpected wind can really throw off your breathing. Something else I realized was that I really prefer to run on the track as opposed to on the street. Many people find running on the track boring but I find it comforting and relaxing. On the street I have to worry about uneven pavement, people, dogs, cars, trucks, buses… But on the track I say hello to the other joggers and walkers, I watch the school children as they arrive for their day of learning and I find peace. You could say on the track I get in a groove.

Fifteen days until the Turkey Trot, I am still confident that I will be ready. My goal for this week is to have a five mile run in the books! The weather should be a little warmer on Friday and I am ready to face the challenge head on! How do you get your workouts done in cold weather? What advice would you share for working out in fall and winter?

Follow TeamFitMommy on WordPress, on Facebook , Twitter, on Pinterest and on BlogHer! Have a FIT & FUN DAY!

Leave a Reply

