RUNNING ~ Week Five: A Short Run Is Better Than No Run!

After pushing my limits last week and surpassing my goals. I woke up this morning and really was not in the mood to run four miles… I had a busy weekend and I really wanted to stay in my nice warm bed! What I did next made realize that I really am becoming “a runner”.
I got up, threw on my clothes laced up my shoes, kissed my husband and said “I’ll be back soon, I’m going for my run”.
I started so slowly that I decided that it would be faster for me to walk. So that’s what I did. I started with a fast walk and gradually started my running pace. It was still slow, I felt SO sluggish. I determined at that point that I was not running four or more miles today. Then I realized that a short run is better than no run.
Considering that a few weeks ago I could barely run a half a mile without stopping, running two miles today was still an accomplishment.

20131111-165410.jpg

Five weeks ago I would have never defined myself as a runner. A former athlete maybe, a person who goes to the gym – Yes, someone who enjoys working out – OK, but a RUNNER… Never!
I plan to get up to five miles by the end of the week so I can spend the rest of my training days getting comfortable with that distance.
There are 17 days until the Turkey Trot and I’m getting excited about the possibilities.

20131111-165231.jpg

Are you preparing for an event in the near or far future? Share your plans, leave a comment!
Follow Team Fit Mommy on WordPress, on Facebook, on Twitter , on Pinterest and now on BlogHer.
Have a FIT and FUN Day!

Leave a Reply

