Week Four: Running Sucks! …Sometimes

THERE I SAID IT! Running sucks if you only do it once a week. If I keep this schedule I will never reach my goal and find peace with this exercise routine. I indeed have a love-hate relationship with running. When I was in high school, I was on the track team all four years. I was even named captain in my senior year, but that was 25 years ago! The reality of being a 43 year old, mother of two is that I can’t do the things I used to do the way I used to do them! And running once a week will surely continue to foster the hate side of this relationship.
Last week I was happy that I was able to run two miles continuously. This week I am starting off a little slower. I did a two mile run/walk this morning and was able to enjoy about ten minutes of it. I know the key to getting better at anything is consistency and really that’s where I falter. I only ran one time last week and only one time the week before… I am setting a goal to run at least three times this week and workout four or five.
I have been in the process of losing weight and getting fit all year. I have lost about fifty pounds this year after having two babies (two c-sections) within two years. Being a mom of a preschooler and a toddler would be a great excuse to not get it done. However, they are NOT the reason. The reason I have not been consistent is ME! My own self doubt, my own self talk that says “You are CRAZY! Why are you doing this?” This would be a good time for me to say that I really enjoy working out! I enjoy all of the benefits of working out but sometimes I have to remember my motivation and pull up my big girl panties and DO IT!
On Sunday I heard a story of victory from the gospel singer Darwin Hobbs. He talked about how he had to take responsibility for his life and lost 141 pounds. He and his wife have been married for twenty years. They have been trying to conceive a baby for many many years with no success. The doctors did all the tests and found no reason they could not conceive except obesity. He weighed more than 400 pounds. His wife was also obese. She joined him in losing weight and lost 112 pounds. After taking responsibility for their situation they were able to conceive and are now expecting a baby in May!
Their story encouraged me. I am not looking to have any more children but I have a lot of other goals and dreams I want to achieve. So today I am taking responsibility and I am going to continue to RUN until I reach my goal!
What obstacles do you face in reaching your goals? How do you plan to overcome them?

20131104-101458.jpg

20131104-101711.jpg

If you like Team Fit Mommy follow us on WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

